football rules_football score betting_What is the XFL? Teams, rosters, schedule, rules & more to know about 2023 football league.

The XFL looked like it was ready to establish itself as a solid spring football option in 2020. The league rebooted after a 19-year hiatus and drew solid audience as fans turned out to see the eight teams compete.

However, disaster struck halfway through the season when the COVID-19 pandemic hit. The XFL was forced to shut down and its owner, Vince McMahon, later filed for bankruptcy.

What is the XFL?

The XFL is the latest attempt at a spring-league start-up and will play its first full season in the spring of 2023. The league features eight teams that will play a 10-week regular season and three-week, three-game postseason to determine a champion.

This is technically the third iteration of the XFL, which played a lone season in 2001 before attempting a reboot in the spring of 2020. The league made it through only half of its second season before it was shuttered by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The XFL was previously owned by Vince McMahon, of WWE fame, but it is now owned by Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Dany Garcia and Gerry Cardinale’s RedBird Capital. The league has a broadcast relationship with ESPN, which will broadcast all of the league’s games on its family of networks.

Garcia will serve as the XFL’s chairwoman while Johnson will be a figurehead for the league. Former Bills president Russ Brandon will serve as the league’s president.